Ice Fishing

30 Jan

I can’t believe it has been so long since my last post! I would like to say I have been too busy working… but nope, no job yet. Which makes it a full 10 months without any gainful employment. Fortunately to stave off my boredom I have managed to get out for some fun winter activities. There is a ski hill 1.5 hours from our house, lots of ice for skating, and also lots of ice for ice fishing!

Some friends of ours made a trip up to see us last weekend, they brought their sleds and off we shot to some local lakes to see if we could scrounge up some dinner! While not all the lakes we tried were fishable, some were and we had a blast. Here is proof I actually caught a few!

DSC03072

Day 1 was pretty warm (up to -6C), and the sun even popped out a few times.

DSC03077

Matt got the first catch of the trip. Nicely done.

DSC03082

DSC03083

DSC03094

It may be small, but I finally got my first catch of the trip!

DSC03089 DSC03100

Looking for lakes

DSC03111

Day 2 got a bit windier and colder, time for some ice huts!

DSC03115

DSC03113

My fish on day 2 was a bit of a nicer size than the first day, big enough for dinner!DSC03105

Hopefully we can make it out again before the end of winter! Maybe find a walleye or whitefish lake!

Winter is long and cold (well, in most of Canada it is, last week got down to -40C… BRRRR), so get out there and enjoy the season!

Leave a comment